Solitaire, One of Us

The Carpenters, Solitaire

There was a man
A lonely man
Who lost his love
Through his indifference

A heart that cared
That went unshared
Until it died
Within his silence

(*) And solitaire’s the only game in town
And every road that takes him Takes him down
And by himself it’s easy to pretend
He’ll never love again

(**) And keeping to himself He plays the game
Without her love It always ends the same
While life goes on around him everywhere
He’s playing solitaire

A little hope
Goes up in smoke
Just how it kills
Goes without saying

There was a man
A lonely man
Who would command
The hand he’s playing

Repeat (*)
Repeat (**)
Repeat (**)

ABBA, One of Us

They passed me by, all of those great romances
You were, I felt, robbing me of my rightful chances
My picture clear, everything seemed so easy
And so I dealt you the blow
One of us had to go
Now it’s different, I want you to know

One of us is crying
One of us is lying
In a lonely bed
Staring at the ceiling
Wishing she was somewhere else instead
One of us is lonely
One of us is only
Waiting for a call
Sorry for herself, feeling stupid feeling small
Wishing she had never left at all

I saw myself as a concealed attraction
I felt you kept me away from the heat and the action
Just like a child, stubborn and misconceiving
That’s how I started the show
One of us had to go
Now I’ve changed and I want you to know

One of us is crying
One of us is lying
In a lonely bed
Staring at the ceiling
Wishing she was somewhere else instead
One of us is lonely
One of us is only
Waiting for a call
Sorry for herself, feeling stupid feeling small
Wishing she had never left at all
Never left at all

Staring at the ceiling
Wishing she was somewhere else instead
One of us is lonely
One of us is only
Waiting for a call

Sorry for herself, feeling stupid feeling small (fading)

Tinggalkan Balasan

